Now Is Not The Time: CMA’s 2021 Art Auction

Children’s Museum of the Arts’ 2021 Art Auction and Fundraiser Exhibition, Now is Not the Time, takes place virtually from February 25 to March 11 in partnership with Artsy. Proceeds from the fundraiser exhibition ensure the continuation of CMA’s mission to provide vital access to the arts for children of all backgrounds and abilities from around the globe.

The online fundraiser exhibition includes over 40 artists whose work responds in ways both subtle and profound to issues of social justice, including Faith Ringgold, Rashid Johnson, Eddie Martinez, Cindy Sherman, and Baseera Khan. The title, Now is Not the Time, refers to the increasing trend of abandoning arts education in the wake of COVID-19 and today’s social and political challenges. CMA actively pushes back against this mode of thinking, advocating that access to the arts is more important than ever for children and families dealing with the stress of the current moment.


For more than thirty years, Children’s Museum of the Arts has opened the world of the arts to children and their families regardless of means, race, identity or prior access. Through the Museum’s city-wide in-school programs and art-making outposts, contemporary art has been allowed to flourish as a dynamic exchange between artists and hundreds of thousands of children from all walks of life. Today, in the midst of today’s abundant social crises, even because of these crises, CMA is more committed than ever to the pursuit of that mission. Now is the time when access to the arts is needed more than ever.

The fundraiser exhibition artists include Uri Aran, Stephen Bron, Benjamin Butler, Seth Cameron, Oliver Clegg, Tommy Coleman, Oscar Rene Cornejo, Ann Craven, Blane de St. Croix, Francesca DiMattio, Adriana Farmiga, Zaria Forman, Daniele Frazier, Rico Gatson, Alexander Gorlizki, Nathan Randall Green, Rashawn Griffin, Mara Held, Serban Ionescu, Rashid Johnson, Bo Joseph, JR, Baseera Khan, Julia Kunin, Alex Kwartler, Blaze Lamper, Eddie Martinez, Joanna Messer, Ryan and Trevor Oakes, Nathlie Provosty, Hannah Rawe, Elaine Reichek, Faith Ringgold, James Rosenquist, Andrew Ross, Jonathan Seliger, Cindy Sherman, David Shrobe, Philip Smith, William Villalongo, Nicole Wittenberg, and Andrew Zuckerman.

Join the conversation using the hashtag #SupportCMA and #CMAArtAuction


Read the full article here


February 18, 2021